Susan Boyle Mania: Susan’s first kiss

2842_81701991834_677921834_2218846_2163950_sSusan Boyle. She really warmed my heart, but a week after my previous post about her, I’m less optimistic. I tend more to worry for her as she’s caught up in a media circus. Just for the record, I know this post adds to it, so I’ll blog briefly here and leave it at that.

I took this photo on my way home from work tonight. It made me sad.  I don’t understand why this needs to be news. Last week we saw a beautiful lady remind us we all have gifts and that we should be careful about how we judge others. She reminded us that beauty is not defined by our shallow social norms.

This headline somehow seems to imply that hitherto there’s been something wrong with this lady’s life, and that now she’s hit celebrity status everything’s going to be transformed for the better. I really dislike this. Why?  (1) It reinforces the ways we judge people based on appearance and conformity to our narrow-minded norms (and yes, I’m as guilty of it as anyone else); and (2) it bolsters the false belief that hope and happiness are to be found in glamour, fame, materialism, and in doing what everyone else does.

For once, I don’t really have anything positive thing to say… it just seems shallow in the extreme. Maybe I’m wrong. Am I?

5 responses to “Susan Boyle Mania: Susan’s first kiss

  1. Pingback: Susan Boyle Mania: Susan’s first kiss | Entertainment @ U Want 2 Know .Info

  2. You;re not wrong. There’s such a HUGE media bandwagon these days, and they roar in upon something amazing, go way over the top, and spoil it… I’m so happy for what has happened to Susan – people hearing her beautiful voice, and her showing the world it’s who you are that counts, just you as a person, not judged by first appearance – but I hope she survives all the fall-out.

  3. Pamela Heatley

    Thanks for your response to my post. I followed your link here. I couldn’t agree with you more. it seems Susan is encountering yet another of our cultural pitfalls. The one is which we cross that social divide and accept something that is unique and than sadly try to mold it into what we think is REALLY acceptable. I hope she weathers the storm.

    http://steelspinedsoul.wordpress.com/

  4. After my initial “wow!” reaction to the original video of her that made its way online, my first thought was, “I wonder how long it will be before they give her a makeover.” I now see that she’s had one, and I felt the same way as you do. It makes me sad that we can be so shallow.

    On another note, I’ve finally written a post on Mark 10:17-30, as you suggested a few weeks ago. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be coming back to your site.

Leave a Reply

